What I've Been Reading in 2019

I’ve decided to bring mini-book reviews to the blog, so I figured I’d start with a round-up of the books I’ve read this year so far. I’ll keep them brief and spoiler-free as there are quite a few to catch up on. Let me know if you’ve read any of these or if you have any questions in the comments! I’m proud to say that I’m only one book behind my one-book-per-week goal!

I’d love to have a cute photo next to a stack of hardbacks for you, but I’m an e-reader kind of gal. I use an old Kindle, but I have my eye on this one. Looking over this list, it’s clear I’ve been switching between mysteries and rom-coms — all fiction! I tend to go through phases with books, so it’s fun to see what I’m into at any given time.

Good As Gone by Amy Gentry

I’m not sure how this ended up being my first book of the year, but I almost put it down several times. It’s not that I wasn’t engaged with the mystery, but it goes to some dark places. I love a good thriller, but I wouldn’t recommend this one to the faint of heart like myself.

Not the best book I’ve read this year, but if you’re a voracious reader, I wouldn’t tell you to skip it! In fact, I think it would make a really interesting movie.

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

This is my favorite book I’ve read this year and maybe ever! I fell madly in love with this story and the protagonist.

I highly recommend for fans of To Kill A Mockingbird. Or really anyone. It took me a few chapters to get into the story, but once I did, I was hooked. I absolutely loved the ending, and I found it to be delightfully unexpected.

There’s also something quite lovely about reading this while living in the south!

The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo

I read this after I finished her Netflix series, which I highly recommend as I feel like I would have found the series to be rather disappointing if I’d already been familiar with her method. She explains everything so well in the book, and I can proudly say that I’m still folding my shirts upright approximately three months later!

I started getting really frustrated with all of the Marie Kondo memes and critiques after reading this because I wanted to protect her. Like, THEY DON’T KNOW YOU LIKE I KNOW YOU. She is such a genuine person!

Mr. And Mrs. American Pie by Juliet McDaniel

I was SO sad when I finished this. I didn’t start a new book for over a week. I got so incredibly attached to these characters and this story. If you love reading about ridiculous and somehow totally endearing people, you will adore this book. I laughed so hard that I cried. So much so that Aaron would beg me to explain what was so funny, and I couldn’t. You had to be there. Writing this is making me want to read it again.

Also, Laura Dern is turning this into a TV series or movie (can’t recall), and I can’t wait. Funny enough, I would recommend this for fans of Big Little Lies or Liane Moriarty in general.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

This novel was intoxicating. If you like young adult literature at all, I highly recommend it. I did not anticipate the ending (I suppose you rarely do with the good ones!), but it all ties together very nicely.

This is a perfect beach or vacation read. You’ll feel fancy and moody and completely captivated. I would love to read this one again before I forget the whole story (I have a horrific memory when it comes to entertainment), so that I can catch all the hints and details!

Girls of Glass by Brianna Labuskes

I picked this one because it was free on Prime. I read so much that we have to budget for it, and I was way past my limit! Hilarious. But it was actually really enjoyable.

When something is free, you don’t have to get as excited about it. It’s just kind of there. So I started reading this book half-heartedly, only to go back and reread sections later once it won me over. I missed a lot of details at the beginning, which only made the ending that much more surprising!

It Ends With Her by Brianna Labuskes

I ended up liking Girls With Glass so much that I went on to read another Briana Labuskes book, which also happened to be free. Yay! I like reading multiple books by the same author in a row because I get used to the cadence and writing style. This one had me equally as entertained, though I will say the ending was a bit more of a stretch.

After these two books, however, I was ready to move on to something much more lighthearted.

I Owe You One by Sophie Kinsella

Where in the world have I been, and how am I only now discovering Sophie Kinsella? This book was so heartfelt, sweet, funny, and relatable. It opened me up to want to read more British authors.

No mystery here, but it did get me on a bit of a rom-com kick, which I tend to always go back to (like the time I read every single Liane Moriarty book in one month. I’ll definitely have to do a full review of her novels soon!).

This book was so fun, but I definitely didn’t love it as much as I loved…

My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

This book felt like a friend. I know that is so cheesy and lame to say, but I’m sorry! I just adored it so much!

Speaking of cheesy, this book is a little cheesy. But also well-written and relatable and predictable but never boring. Are all of these things contradictions? MAYBE. But sometimes a book just steals your heart and you can no longer see its flaws.

I am now planning to read every Sophie Kinsella book this year!

Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott

Did you love The Fault In Our Stars but want it to be a little less devastating, a lot more hopeful, and yet still make you cry? Well, then you’ll love Five Feet Apart.

And then after you read it in one night with a glass of wine and a box of Trader Joe’s peanut butter cups, you’ll make your husband bring you to see the movie so that you can wonder if it’s weird to think that Cole Sprouse is cute after growing up watching The Suite Life Of Zack and Cody. Wait — it’s Cole, not the other twin, right?

(Omg. Just Googled him and we are the SAME AGE. HOW.)

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

I watched the Netflix movie when it came out, and it just didn’t do it for me. Aaron liked it, but I was a little distracted. But after reading Five Feet Apart, I wanted another youth lit novel, so I downloaded a sample and that was that.

This book had me hooked immediately, and I was incredibly upset with Netflix for all of the important details that they left out! The story is so much funnier and sweeter when you truly get to know this wonderful cast of characters and understand Lara Jean a bit better.

So, naturally, I read the whole series.

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

This book didn’t really feel like a separate novel from the first one, since it ended so abruptly. I loved where she took the story! I feel like she got feedback of what everyone loved about the first book and wrote it based on that.

I would love to see another movie based on this book where they developed the characters a bit better.

Did you hear that Netflix?! Get on it!

Always And Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

I didn’t love this one, but I was already so invested that I had to keep going! It felt a little half-baked, but I still enjoyed it.

I will say, however, that I was very sad to say goodbye to Lara Jean (and Kitty!). Time to find another book to fill in the hole in my heart!

If you’re interested in following along with my current reads, you can find them HERE. And please let me know if you have any recommendations! I’m always looking for new reads.

Thanks for shopping via my affiliate links on this page and throughout my site. I receive compensation when you do and use it to keep creating content that I hope you love!